Chia notes

Encounter a problem related to the pool or have a request for a feature? Post your issue here and we will help you out.
robinsoz
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:05 am

Chia notes

Post by robinsoz » Thu Oct 21, 2021 10:26 am

I finally got chia up and running yesterday evening. I am not sure what to think of this cryptocurrency - seems there are lots of moving parts and the design lacks the simple elegance of bitcoin - but no matter, I am happy to rent out my old pile of hard disk drives that have been gathering dust in a box and my home server has an enclosure that will except 48 sas/sata drives.

So far I have 1 100 gigabyte plot but the dashboard shows that I have 30 TB. It has been running all night and this has not changed - some sort of bug I assume?

It would be nice to be able to assign worker names rather than have the long string of gibberish. Maybe I missed a configuration setting for this. One way of doing this might be to have the option of appending the worker name to the payout instructions like slush pool allows the worker name to be appended to the username using a period in between - so the format would be something like Username.Workername.
vancevu
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:47 am

Re: Chia notes

Post by vancevu » Fri Oct 22, 2021 12:01 pm

The mining server will estimate the amount of netspace you have until enough shares have been submitted to calculate the miner's netspace. The default difficulty is 10 which is about 30 TB. With only 100 GB of netspace and a difficulty of 10, it would take roughly a day for a share to be submitted. Once a share is submitted, the mining server should start lowering the difficulty to a more reasonable value.

Currently the worker name is the launcher ID of Plot NFT. We'll look into seeing if there would be any issues implement custom worker names that way.
robinsoz
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Chia notes

Post by robinsoz » Fri Oct 22, 2021 11:16 pm

Thanks for the reply - I think I get the idea. One thing that is a little confusing is that the display for chia on the worker page resets the first share time each time the worker 'reconnects'. Perhaps the title of that field should be changed for chia workers.

Up to 300 gigabytes of plots now - will go up to 400 sometime tonight - my old server plots slowly.
User avatar
Mastermind007
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 2:02 pm

Re: Chia notes

Post by Mastermind007 » Sat Oct 23, 2021 7:26 am

Plotting is not fast by no means. Took me two days to fill a 3TB drive with 27 plots. Unless you have a server with tons of ram, to enable ramdisk usage, and high end NvMe drives those 30 minutes plot times we read about are no where in sight.

Plot times may be slow for us average folks but it is nice to find purpose for older hardware that was just collecting dust on a shelf.
robinsoz
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Chia notes

Post by robinsoz » Sat Oct 23, 2021 11:00 am

I set my log level to info - reading over the logs it is showing over and over again things like:

2021-10-23T06:11:59.229 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : INFO Farmer information successfully updated on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:17:07.715 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Failed to update farmer information on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:37:41.008 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : INFO Farmer information successfully updated on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:42:49.588 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Failed to update farmer information on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360

Now and then I see this error

2021-10-23T06:10:56.570 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Exception in GET /farmer https://prohashing.com:3360, Cannot connect to host prohashing.com:3360 ssl:<
ssl.SSLContext object at 0x7f5265f29cc0> [Name or service not known]

Also, chia plotnft displays this line:

Percent Successful Points (24h): 50.00%

Looks like there is some sort of intermittent connection error going on. Not sure if it is on Prohashing's end or mine. I doubt it is an internet connectivity issue because I have miners hashing away pointed at Prohashing on the same internet connection and they are all working and receiving credit as they shoold
User avatar
Mastermind007
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2021 2:02 pm

Re: Chia notes

Post by Mastermind007 » Sat Oct 23, 2021 11:27 am

I have not seen that error. My Chia GUI list 100% for the Percent Successful Points.
From the full node PC if you browse to https://prohashing.com:3360/ do you see "Chia reference pool" at the top of the page?
Also check the lock icon to the right of the URL so see if it list connection secure or something to that affect.

How does the full node connect to the internet? Is there a VPN, Proxy, etc... ?

Reason for asking is there was a user with there VPN was causing issue due to the new Prohashing security certificate that was recently updated.

Lastly, submit a ticket by going to https://prohashing.com/about and clicking the "Support" button towards the bottom of the page.
User avatar
DigitalSpaceport
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Chia notes

Post by DigitalSpaceport » Sat Oct 23, 2021 12:48 pm

robinsoz wrote: Sat Oct 23, 2021 11:00 am I set my log level to info - reading over the logs it is showing over and over again things like:

2021-10-23T06:11:59.229 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : INFO Farmer information successfully updated on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:17:07.715 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Failed to update farmer information on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:37:41.008 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : INFO Farmer information successfully updated on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360
2021-10-23T06:42:49.588 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Failed to update farmer information on the pool https://prohashing.com:3360

Now and then I see this error

2021-10-23T06:10:56.570 farmer chia.farmer.farmer : ERROR Exception in GET /farmer https://prohashing.com:3360, Cannot connect to host prohashing.com:3360 ssl:<
ssl.SSLContext object at 0x7f5265f29cc0> [Name or service not known]

Also, chia plotnft displays this line:

Percent Successful Points (24h): 50.00%

Looks like there is some sort of intermittent connection error going on. Not sure if it is on Prohashing's end or mine. I doubt it is an internet connectivity issue because I have miners hashing away pointed at Prohashing on the same internet connection and they are all working and receiving credit as they shoold
If you have a pretty low number of plots, you will see this happen more often. Check your IPv6 settings actually "work" if you have a partway working IPv6 setup that can also cause issues with the chia client. In that case you would want to just disable IPv6
robinsoz
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Chia notes

Post by robinsoz » Sat Oct 23, 2021 12:56 pm

I do not have a web browser on the server - but going to that address from another computer on the same network does show the message "Chia reference pool". Of course...have to check several times because it is an intermittent problem.

The node is running on a debian virtual machine running on Bhyve on a FreeBSD host. The host is behind a router using NAT - port 8444 is open and forwarded to the internal vm ip. The virtual machine was plotting overnight so it was under some load - though it has 6 cores assigned and has a dedicated physical disk for a plotting temp directory so it was not too overloaded. I stopped the plotting on the node vm and moved plotting activities to a FreeBSD jail - we will see if the error message goes away.
User avatar
DigitalSpaceport
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2021 12:42 pm

Re: Chia notes

Post by DigitalSpaceport » Sat Oct 23, 2021 2:30 pm

robinsoz wrote: Sat Oct 23, 2021 12:56 pm I do not have a web browser on the server - but going to that address from another computer on the same network does show the message "Chia reference pool". Of course...have to check several times because it is an intermittent problem.

The node is running on a debian virtual machine running on Bhyve on a FreeBSD host. The host is behind a router using NAT - port 8444 is open and forwarded to the internal vm ip. The virtual machine was plotting overnight so it was under some load - though it has 6 cores assigned and has a dedicated physical disk for a plotting temp directory so it was not too overloaded. I stopped the plotting on the node vm and moved plotting activities to a FreeBSD jail - we will see if the error message goes away.
Oh yeah dont plot you your harvester/full node. You using the default Chia plotter?
robinsoz
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:05 am

Re: Chia notes

Post by robinsoz » Sat Oct 23, 2021 9:35 pm

Oh yeah dont plot you your harvester/full node. You using the default Chia plotter?
[/quote]

Yes - using the default plotter at this time. Once I get all the other wrinkles smoothed out of my system might start playing with other plotters.
Post Reply