Need help with SHA-256 mining

News updates about the Prohashing pool
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3535
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA
Contact:

Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby Steve Sokolowski » Sat Mar 17, 2018 8:55 am

In a few minutes, I'm going to enable SHA-256 mining. Since we had to return the S7 that we rented for testing, we need to make sure there were no regressions in the past few days caused by other things we were fixing.

If some customers would be interested in connecting to the pool, using a=sha-256, that would be great. That way, we can get a confirmation that a block can be found in the production environment. We don't plan to make a big deal in marketing about SHA-256 mining until after the new connection is installed, since we risk ourselves losing money due to orphaned blocks, but a small amount of hashrate now will allow us to iron out any issues before going big. Miners' earnings are not affected by our current connection because we are a pay-per-share pool.
User avatar
holygoof
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:02 am

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby holygoof » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:53 am

I ll point one of my S9s there Steve, good luck to us both :)
tom
User avatar
holygoof
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:02 am

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby holygoof » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:32 am

Hmm tried to connect S9, it stops showing pools when I make prohashing the primary, I am not sure if it is working or not. Hard reboot of the device brought all info back up when i had it sent back to slushpool. Out of time, will check back later today or tomorrow.
tom
rulovico
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:38 am

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby rulovico » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:49 am

S9 say that the pool is Dead, it go to backup pool
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3535
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA
Contact:

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby Steve Sokolowski » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:16 am

rulovico wrote:S9 say that the pool is Dead, it go to backup pool


What is the error message returned when authorization is attempted?
NiceJobPoopin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 8:53 pm

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby NiceJobPoopin » Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:02 pm

a=SHA-256 (uppercase) as password shows pool is dead, a=sha-256 (lower) pool is alive. Accepted=2 after about 30 seconds...
User avatar
holygoof
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:02 am

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby holygoof » Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:22 pm

Uppercase a=SHA-256 is working for me, says I found 6 blocks so far, but lost the leacoins
vaultminer
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:28 am

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby vaultminer » Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:48 pm

I just put 3 S9's on it. I used the lowercase password. I didn't try the uppercase password. I will put 10 more S9's on shortly
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3535
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA
Contact:

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby Steve Sokolowski » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:12 pm

Thanks for that tip about the password casing. That shouldn't be that way. I'll add a fix for this problem in the next release.
Slurms
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:38 pm

Re: Need help with SHA-256 mining

Postby Slurms » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:46 pm

Hi, Im trying to connect an S9, using a=sha-256 as the password, and pool is showing as dead. I would be happy to locate the error code if you could tell me where to locate it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests