Awesome Miner

Detailed posts regarding cryptocurrencies
Forum rules
Purpose
This forum is a place to discuss bitcoins, altcoins, cryptocurrencies, and random thoughts about life.

Topics
Topics may include bitcoin prices, outlooks on altcoins, cryptocurrency development, economics, and more. Feel free to share outlooks on other things as long as the major focus is on cryptocurrencies.

In-depth topics only
Replies to posts may be of any size, but new topics must contain original research and be at least two paragraphs in length. While references to external articles are allowed within topics, simply posting a link without discussing its importance or debating its truth is disallowed. Consider this place a huge blog where anyone can post.
nukepower
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:18 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby nukepower » Sat May 27, 2017 10:31 pm

Been using it for about a year now i like it a lot ....

Main site
http://www.awesomeminer.com/

were you buy it , yes it's not free but is if you want very base usage . I'm not trying to sell it or spamming it . just stating it is well worth the money if you go beyond the free version ...


btc forums thread

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=676942.0
scarell
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:54 am

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby scarell » Fri Oct 13, 2017 8:21 am

we always must pay for the quality...
User avatar
AppleMiner
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:44 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby AppleMiner » Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:19 pm

I found it to be worthless myself.

The pool setup allows for OPTIONAL naming place, but no where does the program use that OPTIONAL name to distinguish the settings of the pool entry.

I could setup 3 pools for prohash, 1 for auto switching, 1 for solo mining coinA, and 1 for static pool mining coinB.
Only problem is they all called themselves by the pool URL name, so now all I have is 3 pools called PROHASHING.COM and no way to tell any of them apart. So now I can switch from PH pool to PH pool to PH pool with no clue which one had what settings, and hovering over the pool doesnt give any info.

NAMING FAIL. All they had to do was show the name of the pool as the OPTIONAL name place they give you to use so you could tell them apart and this program would actually be useful for swapping 20 miners around with a simple drag and drop. But since I only have the 1, and I have to retype and edit the pools since I cant tell them apart anyways, all this program is now is a monitor for how much you are making. Its great to swap pools, but you cant tell the difference between different settings on the same pool, i.e. multiple setups on the SAME pool. To check the prices and make sure it always mines the best site, thats nice if you had a bunch, but with multipool hopping that doesnt work either, so again, little value.

I can log into the pool I am on and see that info.
frphm
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:39 am

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby frphm » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:58 am

AppleMiner wrote:I could setup 3 pools for prohash, 1 for auto switching, 1 for solo mining coinA, and 1 for static pool mining coinB.
Only problem is they all called themselves by the pool URL name, so now all I have is 3 pools called PROHASHING.COM and no way to tell any of them apart.


That is not even remotely true. As someone with 43 pool entries in Awesomeminer, 28 of which for only two mining pools, I can 100% tell you that either you did it wrong, or maybe were using an older version.

Awesomeminer is a fantastic tool that allows me to swap pools on 17 different rigs multiple times a day in only a couple minutes, rather than the 15+ minutes it took before that when I had to log in by IP address for every individual rig.

You used a mining farm management tool for 1 rig. Outright, you weren't using the program as intended, and as a result saw zero value in it. Combined with your mystifying problem with the pool list that defies any semblance of reality, now you are here bashing a program you barely understand.

Nice to meet you, new PH mod. Good start.
Ewil
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby Ewil » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:24 am

I've looked into it, because I'm looking for easy remote management on some ASIC units, but I'm confused - do I have to purchase both a lifetime license for Awesome Miner *AND* a monthly cloud subscription in order to have access to that functionality?
Basically I want to be able to get on my mobile device, check the status of the miners, and either alter their pool information, or reboot/etc the machines via that medium. Does this allow it, and if so - how exactly?
bbrodka
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby bbrodka » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:30 pm

Ewil wrote:I've looked into it, because I'm looking for easy remote management on some ASIC units, but I'm confused - do I have to purchase both a lifetime license for Awesome Miner *AND* a monthly cloud subscription in order to have access to that functionality?
Basically I want to be able to get on my mobile device, check the status of the miners, and either alter their pool information, or reboot/etc the machines via that medium. Does this allow it, and if so - how exactly?


monthly cloud subscription is optional, Awesome Miner has its own internal web server if you enable it. You can switch pools via this web interface if you like.
Note you will have to set up port forwarding on your router and point port to your Awesome Miner machine
Screen shot http://joxi.ru/8236OB4i6Oo7Zm

more info on optional cloud service
http://www.awesomeminer.com/cloud.aspx
Ewil
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:24 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby Ewil » Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:29 pm

Been playing around with it (got the paid one) and it's a learning curve lol. FAQ/Help page isn't much to work with, so lots of trial and error - but so far liking it a lot. Just wish it was clearer about the ASIC board statuses rather than just reporting the per-board speed (chip errors, etc).
User avatar
AppleMiner
Posts: 341
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 1:44 pm

Re: Awesome Miner

Postby AppleMiner » Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:10 pm

Things they didnt tell you, you have to change the root/root login on the L3+ for the awesome miner to update and save the pool info you change your pools to on the machines themselves. So if the awesome miner PC and all the miners reboot, the miners will still use the pool settings from the last time Awesome miner saved them there.

Return to “Bitcoin Thoughts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest