Problem discovered with equihash earnings

News updates about the Prohashing pool
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3825
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by Steve Sokolowski » Sun Jan 20, 2019 3:59 pm

creader wrote:Hi,

are you really sure the problem is solved? My Prohashing dashboard say not?!?
Can you explain what happend in detail?

anyway, thanks for your 24/7 work! great

kind regards
Could you explain more about what the issue with the dashboard is? How does it "say not?"
User avatar
djliss
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by djliss » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:31 pm

have a look at my account djliss my solrate should be about 140ish (nvidia 950) its showing 0.5 on the dashboard and earnigs look like they are reflecting this
creader
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:35 am

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by creader » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:45 pm

Steve Sokolowski wrote:
creader wrote:Hi,

are you really sure the problem is solved? My Prohashing dashboard say not?!?
Can you explain what happend in detail?

anyway, thanks for your 24/7 work! great

kind regards
Could you explain more about what the issue with the dashboard is? How does it "say not?"
Hashrate is still incorrect AND no(minimal) coins where mined( or it looks like this). this i mean with dashboard say "not solved this issue"
drmicrodrmicro
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:41 pm

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by drmicrodrmicro » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:47 pm

Mining is tough enough these days.
Should I be switching to another pool?
It's definitely not "fixed".
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3825
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by Steve Sokolowski » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:54 pm

drmicrodrmicro wrote:Mining is tough enough these days.
Should I be switching to another pool?
It's definitely not "fixed".
You're welcome to use another pool if you feel more comfortable. However, as discussed above, mining is not affected, this is only a display issue, and customers will be reimbursed 15% extra for the time they earned less than expected.
nikitazap
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 6:15 am

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by nikitazap » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:21 am

I also left the pool. Steve claims the problems are fixed, but they're not. He's stalling to keep the miners.This is wrong. We're losing revenue. Admit that you can't recover the algorithm. That's fair.
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3825
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by Steve Sokolowski » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:39 am

This issue appears to be resolved. The cause of the issue was a math error. 2^5 - 2^-3 is not equal to 256, as it was erroneously assumed to be. Thanks for your patience.

It looks like another period of share corrections will be necessary. Chris will again issue a 15% bonus for the period when earnings were too low yesterday. He'll work on that in about 12 hours.
ryguy
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:20 am

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by ryguy » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:53 am

Thanks for the fix Steve. I believe this is also impacting the profitability displayed by the pool for equihash.

Currently 0.00693691 BTC is being displayed as the profit, which if divided by 256 shows the true amount.
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3825
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA

Re: Problem discovered with equihash earnings

Post by Steve Sokolowski » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:13 pm

ryguy wrote:Thanks for the fix Steve. I believe this is also impacting the profitability displayed by the pool for equihash.

Currently 0.00693691 BTC is being displayed as the profit, which if divided by 256 shows the true amount.
I got that one too. The problem is that previously I multiplied the profitability, thinking that that was the only thing wrong. Now that we fixed the true issue, the multiplication on the profitability needed to be removed. Thanks for pointing that out.
Post Reply