Asic Boost for S7

Discuss issues with mining rigs and connectivity issues with experienced Prohashing miners.
Lestat9
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:46 pm

Asic Boost for S7

Postby Lestat9 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 3:17 pm

So this site now supports it..From what i read about the boost S7 does have support for it but its disabled...

This some info about it.

"Pretty weird to have antpool.com allowing stratum commands for doing overt ASICBOOST on their production servers. You can telnet to their stratum server yourself and send the following lines and you'll get evidence that there's functions on the remote server for handling the patented version of ASICBOOST.

SEND {"id": 0, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": ["bmminer/2.0.0"]}
SEND {"id": 0, "method": "mining.multi_version", "params": [2,4,6]}
RECV {"result": null, "id": 0, "error": [20, "_stratum_mining_multi_version() takes exactly 2 positional arguments (4 given)", "Traceback (most recent call last):\n File \"/opt/eloipool-server/eloipool/stratumserver.py\", line 199, in found_terminator\n rv = getattr(self, funcname)(*rpc['params'])\nTypeError: _stratum_mining_multi_version() takes exactly 2 positional arguments (4 given)\n"]}
I've also got overt ASICBOOST operating on my Antminer, it needs enabling in a hidden configuration (and a pool that supports it). Open up /config/bmminer.conf and look at the last setting.

{
...
"multi-version" : "1"
}
To enable multi-version needs to be >1, the number being how many bits of the version number you're allowing it to modify for ASICBOOST. Enabling this will cause a new field in mining.submit which includes which version number it ended up using for the share solve, the pool server needs to be able to parse that and be able to validate it. The code for this is on github in the bit main account so don't take my word for it.

Maybe someone like Slush will make a public pool that enables people with handicapped S7, S9, R4 hardware to use ASICBOOST today and reduce their power consumption? It's a few altered responses on the stratum server and some instructions on how to modify the configuration on your miner to enable it, and you're up and running.

the ASIC supports overt and covert ASICBOOST

the FPGA in the miners sold to people supports ASICBOOST

the software in the miners sold to people supports overt ASICBOOST but it's disabled

antpool.com supports overt ASICBOOST messages"


So the question remains. I have a s7 bitman ant miner...how do i enable it and getting it working on this site that now supports it?
Is it a setting in the Antminer screen where i set the pools up?



Thx in advance.
alim
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby alim » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:26 pm

I have the same question for the S9. I believe someone here knows and hope that they will share that knowledge... If I find out another way, I will let you know!
User avatar
djliss
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby djliss » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:48 pm

i'll have a look at a firmware image for my V9 to see if i can implement it, i'll let you know the results
User avatar
CSZiggy
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby CSZiggy » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:21 am

https://www.putty.org/

Then connect to the miner using the login to gain root access.
Then swap down directories \
until you find the one with the file that needs to be edited.

Not sure what editors come with putty, Hope to god its not edline.
User avatar
Steve Sokolowski
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: State College, PA
Contact:

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby Steve Sokolowski » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:32 am

Lestat9 wrote:So this site now supports it..From what i read about the boost S7 does have support for it but its disabled...

This some info about it.

"Pretty weird to have antpool.com allowing stratum commands for doing overt ASICBOOST on their production servers. You can telnet to their stratum server yourself and send the following lines and you'll get evidence that there's functions on the remote server for handling the patented version of ASICBOOST.

SEND {"id": 0, "method": "mining.subscribe", "params": ["bmminer/2.0.0"]}
SEND {"id": 0, "method": "mining.multi_version", "params": [2,4,6]}
RECV {"result": null, "id": 0, "error": [20, "_stratum_mining_multi_version() takes exactly 2 positional arguments (4 given)", "Traceback (most recent call last):\n File \"/opt/eloipool-server/eloipool/stratumserver.py\", line 199, in found_terminator\n rv = getattr(self, funcname)(*rpc['params'])\nTypeError: _stratum_mining_multi_version() takes exactly 2 positional arguments (4 given)\n"]}
I've also got overt ASICBOOST operating on my Antminer, it needs enabling in a hidden configuration (and a pool that supports it). Open up /config/bmminer.conf and look at the last setting.

{
...
"multi-version" : "1"
}
To enable multi-version needs to be >1, the number being how many bits of the version number you're allowing it to modify for ASICBOOST. Enabling this will cause a new field in mining.submit which includes which version number it ended up using for the share solve, the pool server needs to be able to parse that and be able to validate it. The code for this is on github in the bit main account so don't take my word for it.

Maybe someone like Slush will make a public pool that enables people with handicapped S7, S9, R4 hardware to use ASICBOOST today and reduce their power consumption? It's a few altered responses on the stratum server and some instructions on how to modify the configuration on your miner to enable it, and you're up and running.

the ASIC supports overt and covert ASICBOOST

the FPGA in the miners sold to people supports ASICBOOST

the software in the miners sold to people supports overt ASICBOOST but it's disabled

antpool.com supports overt ASICBOOST messages"


So the question remains. I have a s7 bitman ant miner...how do i enable it and getting it working on this site that now supports it?
Is it a setting in the Antminer screen where i set the pools up?



Thx in advance.


It seems to me that the official implementation version-rolling isn't compatible with these miners, then. However, it seems as if both of these implementations are doing the same thing in the miner; they just have different commands to get started.

I can't find any documentation as to what the parameters for "multi_version" mean. What do the [2,4,6] arguments stand for?
User avatar
djliss
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby djliss » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:34 am

CSZiggy wrote:https://www.putty.org/

Then connect to the miner using the login to gain root access.
Then swap down directories \
until you find the one with the file that needs to be edited.

Not sure what editors come with putty, Hope to god its not edline.



ssh access to antminers is with root, admin (password)

you need to use vi to edit config files or use winscp with same credentials to browse the file system

the V9 uses cgminer so that will need updating, more than likely the new source for cgminer will need to be merged with bitmains fork of cgminer and compiled for the arm arc.

quite a bit of work if it even pulls off, best to wait for a modified firmware or bitmain to release a firmware update, although it may not be much work for someone who knows coding better than me to implement it.
User avatar
CSZiggy
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:44 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby CSZiggy » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:40 am

OP was for the S7 not the V9, but I'm not sure where this page was quoting from or when as to which model the article refers to where they claim to have gotten it working.


Steve Sokolowski wrote:
I've also got overt ASICBOOST operating on my Antminer, it needs enabling in a hidden configuration (and a pool that supports it).
Open up /config/bmminer.conf and look at the last setting.

{
...
"multi-version" : "1"
}



To enable multi-version needs to be >1, the number being how many bits of the version number you're allowing it to modify for ASICBOOST. Enabling this will cause a new field in mining.submit which includes which version number it ended up using for the share solve, the pool server needs to be able to parse that and be able to validate it.


From what I've read....
The miners need to grab Putty, install it, use their miner's IP address on their local network, telnet into their machines using root access logins.
Then swap down to the /config/ folder that has the bmminer.conf file and then edit that.

Its the same processed that was done on the L3+s to alter some of their settings at the root config levels.
Also have done config file edits on KNC TITAN controller to edit those files on the SD cards.
User avatar
djliss
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Asic Boost for S7

Postby djliss » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:49 am

CSZiggy wrote:
Steve Sokolowski wrote:
I've also got overt ASICBOOST operating on my Antminer, it needs enabling in a hidden configuration (and a pool that supports it).
Open up /config/bmminer.conf and look at the last setting.

{
...
"multi-version" : "1"
}



To enable multi-version needs to be >1, the number being how many bits of the version number you're allowing it to modify for ASICBOOST. Enabling this will cause a new field in mining.submit which includes which version number it ended up using for the share solve, the pool server needs to be able to parse that and be able to validate it.


From what I've read....
The miners need to grab Putty, install it, use their miner's IP address on their local network, telnet into their machines using root access logins.
Then swap down to the /config/ folder that has the bmminer.conf file and then edit that.

Its the same processed that was done on the L3+s to alter some of their settings at the root config levels.
Also have done config file edits on KNC TITAN controller to edit those files on the SD cards.


telnet and ssh are two completely different protocols, telnet for a start in non encrypted traffic.

putty is a windows ssh client program ssh is short for secure shell (a command prompt style interface) there are also many other programs that do this, linux has an ssh client built in (and server usually).

login details for all antminers by ssh even if the web password is changed is user: root Password: admin this obviously is done through an ssh client that has been connected to the antminers IP address.

On antminer V9's there is no bmminer.conf as the mining software used on this machine is cgminer not bmminer so as i said above the guide will not work and cgminer program will need to be updated with the new asic boost changes.

I believe the S9 and T9 also use cgminer and not bmminer.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests